Book Review ‘Not Another Wish’ by S.P. Wilcox

Not_Another_WishTitle: Not Another Wish
Author: S.P. Wilcox
Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance
Rating: 3 Stars
Goodreads | Amazon

“Grant, I have to go,” I told him.
“No, please talk to me, will you talk to me… tell me how you feel.”
I am dying right here on the patio.
“What do you want me to tell you, that all is forgiven and we can be together?”
“Is that an option?” he asked me. I laughed a little.
“It is going to take more than one phone call asking for me to forgive you for it to be an option,” I told him.

As Sydney decides to throw caution to the wind and begin another relationship with the man who has captured her heart. As their relationship strengthens and their fears and jealousy’s are explored, they become closer than they thought they could ever be even with the thousands of miles separating them.

When Sydney and Grant’s futures get in the way of them being together see the rocky road they lead and the changes in their lives that make their paths criss- cross. Sydney finishes her college career and begins life as a young adult. She becomes a strong independent woman and is reluctant to give up her heart to any man especially the one who keeps floating in and out of her life leaving her heart broken. Can Sydney live with all of her feelings for the only man she has every truly loved tucked away in a small box in her soul?
Is Grant her only true love or does someone else come along to show Sydney that she can love again? These questions and so much more can be found in the pages of “Not Another Wish”!

I’m probably one of the few people who liked the first book in this series better than the second. Not Another Wish just didn’t do it for me. Something was missing. The main characters spent more than half of the book toying with each other (particularly Grant with Sydney) and the other half decided whether they should be together even though they have no common ground, and futures as far away from the other as possible. I wanted them to just make a decision for once. Either go for the relationship and then really go for it, or stay away from each other. Alas, didn’t happen for most of the book.

Like last time around, I liked the romance scenes though, and basically, everything about the relationship except the constant doubting. I know people change when they grow up, but sometimes I felt the main characters were still behaving like children. They should’ve acted more mature for their age. Every moment they were apart was the end of time, the apocalypse, and every moment they spend together they were either fighting, thinking about breaking up, thinking about how they shouldn’t be in love, or having some hot and heavy moments. Yes for the latter, nay for the others.

I did like their journey to adulthood, but I wish there would’ve been more love, less drama.

Leave a Reply

