Book Excerpt and Interview Succubus Rising Tour

succubusbanner

I’m happy to host an interview and book excerpt for paranormal romance novel Succubus Rising today. Let’s start with the interview, and then the excerpt. 🙂

1)      How long have you been writing?

I’ve only been writing fiction a couple of years. I’ve written and edited for newspapers and in the business world for a long time. But I never considered myself a good writer, or a good story teller, so I never tried to write fiction.

2)      Where did you get the inspiration for Succubus Rising?

Succubus Rising is the third book in the Telepathic Clans Saga. It’s a continuation of the story that began with The Succubus Gift and Succubus Unleashed. The story of Brenna and Rebecca discovering their powers and looking for love and their place in the world isn’t finished yet. That will come in the next book. The original working title was “In Succubus We Trust”, and the story was meant to be more about the Clans manipulation of the government in Washington. But the story took a different turn.

3)      Where do you write: in your own office, at the kitchen table, the local Starbuck, … ?

I can and do write almost anywhere. I’ve written in airports, hotels, restaurants, on planes … mostly I write on my couch at home.  I have a little one-pound netbook that I can take anywhere.

4)      How long did it take you to write Succubus Rising?

It took about two months to write, and six months to edit and revise. Actually, I wrote my first three books in about three months. Writing is easy. Writing well is not so easy, but I’m learning.

5)      How many parts will there be in the Telepathic Clan series?

I have one more book planned in the current series. The story I started out to tell about Brenna and Rebecca will be finished. The world of the Telepathic Clans will see more books, however.

6)      What are you working on now?

I’m working on a detective, suspense story set in the same world. The main character is a telepathic private investigator. A few of the characters from my other books make an appearance, but the focus of the story is away from the O’Donnell Clan.

Read an Excerpt

The three of them were walking along from the Wharf back to their car. Their protection team was being discreet and keeping their distance. A man stepped out from between two buildings with a gun.

“Just give me your purses and no one will get hurt.”

Rebecca and Brenna immediately braced, linking their minds and setting up a strategy for disabling him.

“What are you doing?” Rosie asked.

Confused, they looked at her, and then at the man with the gun. He stood frozen, not moving.

Rosie turned to him. “Give me the gun.” He walked over and gave it to her. “Now go find a busy street and play in traffic.” He turned and stepped off the curb, almost into the path of a car, walking off down the middle of the street. Rosie walked over to the curb and tossed the pistol in a storm drain.

“He’s a norm. All you have to do is control his mind. Wilders,” she said in disgust. “Lord, you were going to complicate things, weren’t you?” She continued down the street chuckling.

About Succubus Rising

cover600Title: Succubus Rising

Author: B.R. Kingsolver

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Book 3 of the Telepathic Clans Saga, Succubus Rising

The Goddess has plans for Brenna and Rebecca, and the Goddess has a wicked sense of humor.

Rebecca Healy is a true wilder, growing up with no contact or knowledge of other telepaths. Discovered by a Clan member on the streets of San Francisco, she felt like she’d hit the jackpot. Finally, she knew what she was, or at least she thought she did.

When Brenna O’Donnell, long-lost heir of the O’Donnell Clan, and the strongest telepath in history, is returned to her family, she and Rebecca form a tight bond. Brenna has it all, looks, money, power, and men falling all over her.

Rebecca isn’t jealous, but it would be nice to find someone who would really love her and stick around in the morning. She’s intrigued by a handsome South American general, but of course, he has his sights set on Brenna. Carlos de Vargas wants more than love. His Clan has its back to the wall, and they hope for an alliance with O’Donnell. An alliance that would lead to war.

The story began in The Succubus Gift and continued in Succubus Unleashed. In Succubus Rising, questions are answered and new mysteries are revealed.

Purchase on Amazon or B&N.

Author Bio

BRK AvatarI made silver and turquoise jewelry for almost a decade, ended up in nursing school, then took a master’s in business. Along the way I worked in construction, as a newspaper editor, a teacher, and somehow found a career working with computers.

I love the outdoors, especially the Rocky Mountains. I’ve skied since high school and I’ve hiked and camped all my life. I love to travel, though I haven’t done enough of it. I’ve seen a lot of Russia and Mexico, not enough of England. Amsterdam is amazing, and the Romanian Alps are breathtaking. Lake Tahoe is a favorite, and someday I’d like to see Banff in Canada.

I have a very significant other, two cats and two Basset Hounds. I’m currently living in Baltimore, nine blocks from the harbor, but still own a home in New Mexico that I see too infrequently.

Links

Twitter: @BRKINGSOLVER

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/brkingsolver

Web site: http://brkingsolver.com/

Leave a Reply

