Character Interview Deltan Skies Tour

bannerdeltanskies

I’m hosting a character interview of Quintanelle, the main character of “Deltan Skies”! Quintanelle is an interesting character, as you’ll find out soon!

Character Interview

Me: Hello, Quintanelle.

Quintanelle: Hello, Noah.

Me: So, tell the readers a little about yourself.

Quintanelle: I’m a 32 year-old Teolian Elf. I grew up in the elven city-state of Teolos and just graduated from the Teolian Mage Academy. I’ve moved to New Delta to start a new life.

Me: Why did you move away from Teolos?

Quintanelle: Teolos is ruled by three factions: Warriors, Rangers and Mages. The Teolian Warriors are one half of the military. They are all-male and basically serve as city guards and assassins. The Teolian Rangers are the all-female other half of the military. Their main job is to protect the Forest of Illywn, which surrounds Teolos. The Teolian Mages are the most powerful faction. They’re magic practitioners who make up the non-military portion of the government. At the top of the hierarchy is the Mage Council, made up of eleven mages, plus the heads of the Warriors and Rangers. They set the policies and their subordinates do their bidding.

The Council brainwashes us to hate and fear the outside world in order to keep us loyal to the mother-state. They’d cut the city off from the rest of Terrall, but they can’t for a wide variety of reasons.  I’ve moved away from Teolos because I don’t like what they do and don’t want to spend my life being a part of it.  I would’ve moved away long before I did, but simply wasn’t able to until I graduated and became a full mage.

Me: Is there anything good about Teolos you’d like to share?

Quintanelle: I enjoyed my classes. Did you know mages have to have a rigorous study in sciences, like chemistry and physics? It’s one thing to simply harness divine energies to affect the physical world, but quite another to know how the harnessing affects the world.

Me: Could you give us an example of that?

Quintanelle: My hand can light on fire when I channel the Deity Elohim the Holy, who spins the air molecules around my hand so fast, my outer layer of skin lights on fire.

Me: That sounds painful.

Quintanelle: It isn’t. I can easily squelch the flames and my hand will be back to normal, no lasting scars or burns at all. That’s why it’s magic!

Me: You really haven’t talked about your personal life.  Tell us about your family.

Quintanelle: I don’t really want to talk about my family. I stopped talking to them once I moved.

Me: Alright, are you dating anyone?

Quintanelle: I dated a fellow student at the Academy for a decade, but the relationship fizzled out before I moved. I’m not interested in dating again for a while.

Me: Friends?

Quintanelle: I had friends in Teolos, but like my love life, those relationships fizzled out before I moved.

Me: How do you like living in New Delta?

I hate living in such tall towers. The walkways between them frighten me. It’s also unsettling living around everyone I’d been taught to hate, but I’m slowly coming around.

Me: How is the job search going?

Quintanelle: I’d rather not talk about it either.

Me: Not going too well?

Quintanelle: Something like that.

Me: Well thank you for taking the time to talk.

Quintanelle: I’m happy to do it.

 Deltan Skies

v1b_EBOOKTitle: Deltan Skies

Author: Noah Murphy

Genre: Fantasy / Adventure

A young elven mage named Quintanelle Fillion flees from her totalitarian homeland to New Delta, a dense metropolis made up of hundreds of mile-high towers. She finds employment working for New Delta’s top private detective, a human named Alfonso Deegan, and his red dragon associate Mordridakon. Quintanelle’s first case thrusts her in the middle of New Delta’s own problems.

After millennia of oppression, members of the disenfranchised avian race have taken complete control of the criminal underworld, but what they want is the one thing they can’t steal. To achieve their goals, the avians’ charismatic leader enlists the help of a goblin shaman cast out from her own suffering people. Together they create a risky and daring plan that involves everyone from the city’s inept mayor and a corrupt city senator, to Quintanelle’s new boss and even her own family.

As their plan unfolds, a dark reality emerges. New Delta stands on the brink of total annihilation, and Quintanelle may be the only one who can stop it.

 Author Bio

_MG_2009Noah Murphy grew up in Montgomery County, Maryland which features prominently in his writing. After graduating from Goucher College with a double major in philosophy and religion, he began a pet sitting service. In his spare time Noah volunteers at a not for profit parrot rescue. His love of animals provides inspiration for many of the anthropomorphic characters in his books.

Part of the generation just before autism awareness began, Noah was diagnosed at age 26. For him, a later diagnoses was a hidden blessing. Being forced to be “normal” gave him the skills and knowledge to publish and run a business.  Autism also unhinges his mind, allowing him to approach situations and characters in strange new ways, and seriously enough to make them work.

An avid writer, Noah Murphy is the author of the fantasy novel Deltan Skies, and the superhero novel Ethereal Girls.  He  also enjoys sharing his opinions on life, literature and popular culture with his 29,000 followers on Twitter and on his blog.

 Links

twitter @murphyverse
Website: www.k23detectives.com
Amazon book page: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00D2B98IO

Leave a Reply

