Interview with Mayra Calvani

darklullabybanner

Interview with Mayra Calvani, author of Dark Lullaby

Mayra Calvani writes fiction and nonfiction for children and adults and has authored over a dozen books, some of which have won awards. Her stories, reviews, interviews and articles have appeared on numerous publications such as The Writer, Writer’s Journal, Multicultural Review, and Bloomsbury Review, among many others. When she’s not writing, reading, editing or reviewing, she enjoys walking her dog, traveling, and spending time with her family. She’s currently touring the blogosphere to promote her supernatural thriller, Dark Lullaby.

Website www.MayraCalvani.com

Blog www.thedarkphantom.wordpress.com

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/mayra.calvani

Twitter https://twitter.com/mcalvani

Goodreads http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/272703.Mayra_Calvani

Amazon link: http://www.amazon.com/Dark-Lullaby-ebook/dp/B005UI7FOG

Interview:

What is the hardest part about being an author?

As writers, we work on our own. We don’t have a boss threatening to fire us if we don’t show up every morning, so I’d say the hardest part is being disciplined and keeping focused on the work at hand and, above all, not procrastinating. I have to create all kinds of systems around me to keep myself disciplined. I’m terrible at being disciplined, but I’m pretty good at self-imposed discipline. I set an intention before each writing session, I keep 4 planners and lists, I use timers, I make people hold me accountable, I set myself deadlines and at times commit to paying people money if I don’t meet those deadlines, that sort of thing.

Can you give us the synopsis of your book?

Sure, here it is:

At a tavern one Friday night, astrophysicist Gabriel Diaz meets a mysterious young woman. Captivated by her beauty as well as her views on good and evil, he spends the next several days with her. But soon he begins to notice a strangeness in her…especially the way she seems to take pleasure in toying with his conscience.

The young woman, Kamilah, invites him to Rize, Turkey, where she claims her family owns a cottage in the woods. In spite of his heavy workload and the disturbing visions and nightmares about his sister’s baby that is due to be born soon, Gabriel agrees to go with her.

But nothing, not even the stunning beauty of the Black Sea, can disguise the horror of her nature… In a place where death dwells and illusion and reality seem as one, Gabriel must now come to terms with his own demons in order to save his sister’s unborn child, and ultimately, his own soul.

Is this part of a series or a stand alone?

It’s a stand-alone.


How many hours do you write per week?

It has taken me a long time to find my natural rhythm and to face the fact that I’m not one of those super prolific writers who can cough up a whole novel in 3 months. I’d love to be one of those! But I’m not. My inner critic is always present, agonizing over each word, each sentence. I can’t help editing as I write. So right now it takes me about two years to complete a novel. I write in the mornings. I set my timer and work in 90-minute increments. So I’ll do 90 minutes, then take a break to do some housework or run an errand, then come back and do another 90 minutes, and so on. If I’m in the zone, I’ll keep at it for 3 hours or so without stopping, but on average, I write 2-3 pages a day, or 10-15 a week.

Of course, I work on other things besides my novel. I’m currently putting together an anthology as well, so afternoons are for that, along with my freelance publicity work, which sucks up a lot of my time.

I’m always experimenting with ways to speed up my writing process and shut up my inner critic, like taking part in fast-draft workshops and Nanowrimo, but usually the end product are pages and pages that require heavy editing or that I have to delete.

What is your favorite book in the same genre as yours?

I love Come Closer, by Sara Gran, and everything by Alexandra Sokoloff.

What are you working on now? 

I’m currently working on two projects: one is a YA psychological/supernatural thriller; the other an anthology titled, Latina Authors and Their Muses, forthcoming by Twilight Times Books in the spring of 2014.

Dark Lullaby

darklullaby_facebook_webTitle: Dark Lullaby

Author: Mayra Calvani

Genre: Supernatural/psychological thriller

At a tavern one Friday night, astrophysicist Gabriel Diaz meets a mysterious young woman. Captivated by her beauty as well as her views on good and evil, he spends the next several days with her. After a while, however, he begins to notice a strangeness in her…especially the way she seems to take pleasure in toying with his conscience.

The young woman, Kamilah, invites him to Rize, Turkey, where she claims her family owns a cottage in the woods. In spite of his heavy workload and the disturbing visions and nightmares about his sister’s baby that is due to be born soon, Gabriel agrees to go with her.

But nothing, not even the stunning beauty of the Black Sea, can disguise the horror of her nature…In a place where death dwells and illusion and reality seem as one, Gabriel must now come to terms with his own demons in order to save his sister’s unborn child, and ultimately, his own soul.

Author bio

grandplacesmallA native of San Juan, Puerto Rico, Mayra Calvani writes fiction and nonfiction for children and adults and has authored over a dozen books, some of which have won awards. Her stories, reviews, interviews and articles have appeared on numerous publications such as The Writer, Writer’s Journal, Multicultural Review, and Bloomsbury Review, among many others. When she’s not writing, reading, editing or reviewing, she enjoys walking her dog, traveling, and spending time with her family. She has travelled extensively and lived in 3 continents, but now calls Belgium her home.

Visit her website at www.mayraCalvani.com. For her children’s books, visit www.MayrasSecretBookcase.com.

Links

Kindle Store: http://www.amazon.com/Dark-Lullaby-ebook/dp/B005UI7FOG

Giveaway

Mayra was kind enough to offer a copy of her non-fiction book “The Slippery Art of Book Reviewing” and a $25 Amazon Gift Card for a giveaway during the tour! Fill in the Rafflecopter form below to participate!

Fill in the form

8 thoughts on “Interview with Mayra Calvani

  1. Thank you so much for hosting me!

    Best,
    Mayra

  2. Debbie says:

    Planners, lists and timers – great idea!

  3. I enjoyed reading your interview and hearing about your book, Mayra. Best wishes to you on it.

  4. slpstanley says:

    Great interview! Mayra failed to mention she is super nice and a great teacher as well!

  5. Marge Gower says:

    Great Interview Mayra. Good Luck with your book. I have it and will be reading it soon.

  6. Latrisha Talley says:

    This book sounds interesting. Congrats Mayra on the completion of the novel as well as on your book tour. I totally agree with the answer to your first question about the hardest part of being a writer/author. It’s definitely a challenge keeping yourself accountable and disciplined. Wishing you continued success!

  7. Great interview, and great synopsis of Dark Lullaby! It sounds like a very interesting (and spooky) book.

  8. irenesroth says:

    Hi Mayra,

    GREAT interview! I really enjoyed reading it!

    Irene Roth
    http://irenesroth.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

