Author Interview with Jennifer Mahal

bannerallhallows

I’m interviewing Jennifer Mahal today, the author of a kids alphabet book called “All Hallow’s ABC”. Thank you for letting me ask you some questions, Jennifer, and welcome to my blog!

1) What is the hardest part about being an author?

Finding balance. I write, but I also illustrate, lay out, publish and market. It’s a lot of hats, and it can be tricky to make sure I don’t get bogged down in the business of writing. I try to make sure I spend at least a few minutes of time every day on the creative side, working on the writing or illustrating.

2) Can you give us the synopsis of your book?

“All Hallow’s ABC” is a Halloween alphabet book in rhyme with some unusual word choices. It has colorful, modern illustrations that are spooky, but not scary for little ones.

3) Is this part of a series or a stand alone?

This is a stand alone ABC book at the moment, but my sister is trying to convince me to do another one involving science.

4) How many hours do you write per day/week/month (choose what suits best)?

I write around 5 to 12 hours a week. More if I can find time. Most weeks, I wake up in the wee hours and get some time in before the kid is up. However, we’ve had a spate of illness around the house lately, so I’ve been in the lower end of hours.

5) What is your favorite kids book?

I love “The Golden Book of Fairy Tales,” illustrated by Adrienne Segur and translated Marie Ponsot. The stories in it date back more than 100 years, but they feel fresh. Some are recognizable — “The Frog Prince,” “Sleeping Beauty” —  but my favorites are the odd ones like “Green Snake” by Madame d’Aulnoy and the Russian fairytale “Finn the Keen Falcon.” The girls in these fairytales are courageous and smart. It’s the first book I bought for my daughter, though she’s still a little young to have theses tales read to her.

6) What are you working on now?

I’m finishing layout on “Mommy is a Worrywart,” inspired by an incident with my daughter. It’s told from the perspective of a child who is sure her mother is far too cautious about the world. There are space aliens and jellyfish in the book. It’s been fun to work on.

Up next is a book with a slightly different take on dinosaurs. I’m in the research phase for that now.

All Hallow’s ABC

CoverHallowWebTitle: All Hallow’s ABC

Author: Jenni Kaye

Genre: Alphabet Book

From Apples to Zombies, the alphabet has never been spookier! Find visual treats and tricky rhymes in this colorful Halloween primer. All Hallow’s ABC is a delight to read out loud for kids of all ages.

Buy the eBook through Independent Booksellers or from Barnes and Noble, Amazon, Tomely or Kobo.

Buy the print book through special order at Independent Bookstores or through Barnes and Noble or Amazon.

Links

Watch the book trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QUTDrB3mQfc

http://jennikaye.com

http://daringinkpress.com

@writing1page

@kayebooks

Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B009PMVP3A/

BN.com

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/all-hallows-abc-jenni-kaye/1113459062?ean=2940015598636

Kobo

http://www.kobobooks.com/ebook/All-Hallows-ABC/book-c4dkNc-Me0SX2dfvyG2tPg/page1.html?s=X1uf2ncSWEi0ukGdU26sCw&r=1

Tomely

http://daringinkpress.tomely.com/all-hallows-abc

Leave a Reply

