Author Interview with EJourney

bannerhellomodern

What’s the hardest part of being an author?

On first blush, I couldn’t think of an answer to this question, until I thought of what an author is, as opposed to a  writer.  I love the process of writing (and being a writer), although to me, it’s hard work and it’s hard work because of my own compulsiveness.  I always think there’s one more thing I can do to make something I’ve already written better.  I never really stop tinkering with a book, until I’m deeply involved in another writing project.   And there’s the rub.

Presumably, a writer becomes an author upon hitting that “publish” button.  And nowadays, as an author, you have to do promotion for your book.   That’s the hardest part, for me.  Donning the hat of a published author takes time away from diving head-long into another writing project.  I hate that promotion takes almost as much time as writing the book and the results of my efforts can be iffy and frustrating.  I know a good many things about writing, I know nearly zilch about promoting.  So, within my means, I’ve relegated some of it to a team like Enchanted Promotions.

Can you give us a synopsis of Hello, Love?

Do you seriously mean a synopsis?  If so, that’ll take more words than the rest of this interview.  May I refer you, instead, to my website?  You’ll find a synopsis here: http://margaretofthenorth.wordpress.com/hello-love-by-ejourney-a-synopsis/

Is this part of a series, or stand-alone?

I started this book as a stand-alone but I got intrigued by the story possibilities for the heroine’s mother.  So, I’m now writing a prequel.

How many hours per day do you spend writing?

I spend a good part of most of my days writing and reading.  Reading, to me, is essential to being a writer who keeps growing.  I write and read for about three hours after breakfast.  Then, my other life intrudes.  I go back to reading and writing, at about 10 o’clock at night and I can go on until 2 am.  Writing is solitary work but if you write fiction, it can open up another engaging world in your imagination.  I do write two blogs, in addition to writing books.  One is my book website and the other (www.eveonalimb.com) contains my musings on art, food, travel (and occasionally living a transient life in Paris).

What is your favorite book?

A favorite book?  How can anyone limit oneself to one favorite book?  Anyway, mine does change with time and it’s usually the one that makes the most impact on me, among the books I’ve read at any given time.  About two years ago, it was Chitra Divakaruni’s Palace of Illusions, based loosely on the Mahabharata, with a heroine who has five warrior husbands.  How cool is that?  These days, it’s Carlos Ruiz Zafón’s Shadow of the Wind.

Now, if you ask me if there’s a book I never tire of reading over and over, then that has to be Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice.  There’s just something about Lizzy Bennett and Mr. Darcy in the context of a novel of manners that I always find irresistible.

What are you working on now?

I have three I started since finishing Hello, Love!  I’ve written a prologue for the prequel to it.  I’m including this prologue as a short story in a small book of three short stories that I just finished writing and, for which, someone is now doing a book cover.  The other two short stories are set in Paris.  I hope to finish the prequel early next year.

I’ve also written what may be the first half of a brief nonfiction on manuscript illuminations (medieval picture books, usually religious).  In the second half, I intend to segue into comic books.  I don’t know how far I can go with this because, although it’s short, it requires a lot of research.  But the other part of me can’t get away from art and the act of researching.

About the Book

Hello! 3D coverTitle: Hello, Love!

Author: EJourney

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Heartache and the specter of revenge follow when sparring partners spend the night together two days before he weds someone else.

A deliciously romantic romp with a good dose of realism and a twist of mystery.

A clash of wits, more than of wills, drives the love story in this modern-day pastiche of 19th-century romance novels by Elizabeth Gaskell (North and South) and Jane Austen.  The main protagonists deal with messy feelings and events that could happen to any of us:  The heroine, a bright young lawyer, confronts choices about career, abortion, and reactions of parents, friends, and men; while he, an alpha male, is haunted by past relationships, but with a sensitive, caring side that emerges as he woos the heroine.

Author Bio

EJourney is a flaneuse (an observer/wanderer) who writes about, and illustrates (oils, pastels, digital) what she sees and loves.   In a past life, with a now-dormant Ph.D., (University of Illinois), she researched, evaluated and developed mental health programs.

Writing was her first love and she wanted to be a journalist but her parents balked at that.  She was 15, malleable, and dependent on them for support, so she went into the social sciences, actually a compromise and preferable to chemistry, her parents’ choice.

EJourney’s first novel, Margaret of the North, is illustrated with digital “paintings” done on an iPad.

Her book website is: www.margaretofthenorth.wordpress.com for articles on books and writing, some reviews, and interviews.

For her take on art, travel (mostly Paris where she has stayed for months), eating, and state of being as well as some of her paintings, her website is Journey on a Limb at http://eveonalimb.com .

Links

book website: http://margaretofthenorth.wordpress.com/
twitter:@eholychair

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Hello-Modern-Love-Story-ebook/dp/B00FIDG12U/dern-romance-by-ejourney-a-synopsis/

Leave a Reply

