Author Interview Passion, Power and Privilege Tour

passionpowerbanner

I’m interviewing Cara Addison, author of contemporary erotic romance “Passion, Power and Privilege”. My questions are bolded, Cara’s responses are in regular font.

1) What’s the hardest part of being an author?

Finding balance.  It is a delicate task to balance the tasks of being an author, which include so much more than just writing.  Between writing, editing, submitting to publishers, promotion, blogging, and fan communication, it takes organization and discipline to accomplish each and every task.  For me personally, this becomes more complicated as I continue to juggle a career and family responsibilities.


2) Can you give us a short synopsis of Passion, Power and Privilege? 

Kate Callahan is a strong, smart, and witty woman who has endured years in a cold and unfulfilling marriage.  In spite of that, she’s driven and ambition and decides to set aside her legal career and pursue the political arena.  After her husband’s sudden death, Kate finds herself free to pursue a relationship when she meets a successful business owner, Bradley Taylor who not only understands her capabilities, but encourages her to pursue the Mayor’s office and use her unique ideas and influence to make a positive change in the City of Lowden.

Kate and Brad aren’t without their struggles, both having dealt with hurt and loss.  Brad brings out a joy and a passion that puts the past behind them, as they focus on loving each other.


3) Is this part of a series, or stand-alone?

Passion, Power, and Privilege is a stand-alone book.  While I absolutely love the characters of Kate and Brad, I feel like I’ve written their complete story.  I have a vision of what their life looks like after the book ends, but at this point, I’m not certain that I’m ready to commit it to paper.


4) How many hours per day do you spend writing?

When I’m in full writing mode, I prefer to dedicate at least 6 hours a day at the computer.  I prefer to focus on one manuscript at a time, and write each and everyday until it’s completed in a solid draft form.  That takes about 30 days of continuous writing.  That means writing 2,000-3,000 new words each day.


5) What is your favorite book in the same genre as yours?

To be perfectly honest, I haven’t ready any other books in this genre.  When I decided to start writing down the thoughts that were in my mind, I wanted to do some reading within the genre, but didn’t want another author’s work to cloud or influence my own creativity.  Now that my first novels have been published, I’d like to dedicate some time to reading the work of my peers.


6) What are you working on now?

Since ‘Passion, Power, and Privilege’ was published in February, I’ve had another novel released in ebook format.  ‘Going the Distance’ was released in March 2014, and I’m working to promote both novels.  http://www.bookstrand.com/going-the-distance-addison

 

In the meantime, I continue to write.  I’m working on another contemporary erotic romance novel.  It’s the story of a divorced mother of two children who, after emerging from an unhappy marriage finds a friend and a lover who challenges her emotionally, intellectually, and sexually.  I hope to have this manuscript completed this spring and ready for a Fall release.

Passion, Power and Privilege

ca-passionpowerandprivilege-fullTitle: Passion, Power and Privilege
Author: Cara Addison
Genre: Contemporary Erotic Romance

When her tumultuous marriage ends suddenly, Katharine “Kate” Callahan is forced to decide if she should return to her job as a corporate lawyer, or proceed with the campaign to become the Mayor of the City of Lowden.
Difficult decisions become a lot easier when Kate meets Brad Taylor, a handsome and successful business owner. Brad’s attraction to Kate is instant, and life finally starts falling into place as Kate realizes that the right man can bring out a passion that she had forgotten existed.

Can Kate and Brad overcome their stormy and complicated pasts to find each other, love each other, and use their power and privilege to change the city they call home?

Author Bio

I consider myself to be an accidental author. That’s right, becoming a published author happened, by chance.

For years, I’ve worked in the corporate world. Essentially, I’m a problem solver for corporations and government. So, you can imagine how much of a shift it was for me to sit down and write.

During the summer of 2013, I put pen to paper. I let my sexy imagination loose and before I knew it I’d filled a more than a few pages. The characters came to life and the story began to take shape.

I’m blessed with incredible friends who were willing to read as I wrote. They offered insight and suggestions, but most importantly they offered unconditional support and encouragement to keep writing.

And so began, the greatest chapter of my life.

My first manuscript took just over a month to write. With just over 64,000 words, I’d taken the main characters, Kate Callahan and Bradley Taylor on a journey. I had my friends read Passion, Power, and Privilege and then made several edits in response to their suggestions. In October of 2013, I sent my little baby off to a select group of publishers. And waited.

I was hooked. While I waited, I started writing another novel. An entirely new set of characters, a new setting, and a new plot began to take shape. By the end of October, I’d put the finishing touches on Going the Distance, the story of Austin Campbell and Brett Tanner.

Writing has been cathartic. Becoming published has been exhilarating.

This journey isn’t over. I continue to write, as time permits. A third manuscript is in the works.

Visit my website at: http://www.caraaddison.com

Links

http://caraaddison.com/
http://bookstrand.com/cara-adison/

Leave a Reply

