Author Interview Waiting For You Tour

waitingbanner

I’m hosting an interview for the book tour for contemporary romance “Waiting For You”. Author Heather Huffman was kind enough to respond to my interview questions. My questions are bolded, heer responses are in regular font.

1) What’s the hardest part of being an author?

Balancing it all – writing, children, home, farm… There is always something pulling at my time. I have to make myself carve out time to write or it doesn’t happen.


2) Can you give us a short synopsis of your book?

Karise McAlister has worked hard to do things right her entire life. She has a practical but boring job, is engaged to the “right” man, and lives in a great home. But then she meets a handsome stranger who sets the whole thing on its head, sending her on a journey of self-discovery. More than any of my other books, this one is a feel-good romance. One of my readers said it best, “I want to crawl inside this book and live there.” I couldn’t agree more. When I was writing Waiting for You, I just wanted to crawl inside Karise’s world and stay there!


3) Is this part of a series, or stand-alone?

Both! All of my books exist in a shared universe, so characters from one novel show up in other novels. But they’re also written so they can stand alone. If you’ve never read one of my books, you can pick up any one of them and not be lost. My publisher pulled the books most closely related to this one into a collection called Unbridled Hearts. It includes Ties That Bind, Ring of Fire and Roses in Ecuador.


4) How many hours per day do you spend writing?

That depends on the time of year (what’s going on around my farm or with my kids) and whether or not I have an active project on deadline. I try to spend at least two hours a day on writing and another two a day on marketing. Sometimes, it’s more like eight. Sometimes, it just doesn’t happen. When it doesn’t happen, it’s usually goat or kid related.


5) What is your favorite book in the same genre as yours?

I love the poetic writing of Sylvain Reynard’s novels. When I read his book Gabriel’s Inferno, I made myself late for my own birthday dinner because I couldn’t put it down.

6) What are you working on now?

For years, my readers have been asking to hear more about Vance Davis. He’s a favorite character of mine and my readers. I through him for a loop in Devil in Disguise (some people are still mad at me over that one!) This year, I want to get his story out there. Right now I’m working on a series of short stories to fill in the gaps for him. Someone from my marketing team came up with the perfect name for it: Vance Davis Dossier. It’s a new twist for me and my writing. I’m enjoying the challenge and I’m hoping my readers enjoy it, too!

Waiting for You

waitingforyoucoverTitle: Waiting for You

Author: Heather Huffman

Release date: May 7, 2014

Print ISBN: 978-1-62015-396-3
epub ISBN: 978-1-62015-406-9

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Waiting-You-Heather-Huffman-ebook/dp/B00JK1G85Q

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/21845743-waiting-for-you

Blurb: For years, Karise McAlister has been running: from her family, from herself, and from her dreams. Now she’s made it, with a successful career and a promising engagement. But when she meets the compelling and creative Aidan Donnelly, his down-to-earth charm provides the wakeup call Karise badly needs. Moving across country to start over, Karise devotes herself to her work, convinced she needs to be independent. But with handsome Aidan just down the road and a mischievous group of friends determined to set her up, Karise must face her concerns about life and romance head-on.

Tagline: Sometimes a single spark is all it takes to change your life for good.

Author Bio

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAHeather Huffman calls the beautiful Missouri Ozarks home. When not writing, this homesteading mother is busy raising three boys or tending the family’s myriad of animals, which includes alpacas, goats, chickens and ducks. Huffman’s optimistic and somewhat quirky view of life often finds its way into her novels.
Heather is the author of Throwaway, Ties that Bind, Jailbird, Suddenly a Spy, Ring of Fire, Tumbleweed, Devil in Disguise, Roses in Ecuador and Fool’s Game. You can find out more about her family’s adventures as they strive to live off the land, as well as her writing and charitable work on http://www.heatherhuffman.net.

Leave a Reply

