Author Interview with J.L. Sprague

survivingbanner

I’m interviewing J.L. Sprague today, author of romantic suspense “Surviving”. My questions are bolded, J.L.’s responses are in regular font.

1) What’s the hardest part of being an author?

     For me, the hardest part of being an author is finding time to write without being interrupted. Research is something I don’t like about being an author but I learn so much while doing it, I’m starting to like it…a little.
Oh, and marketing sucks.
2) Can you give us a short synopsis of Surviving? 
     Jenna’s hard life taught her mind how to forget. Forgetting the bad is the only way she made it through life. Only when she meets Landon…and forgets him…does she realize how forgetting has shaped her life.
     Now, years after meeting Landon, they meet again and the meeting sparks everything from remembering memories to the madman’s return… a man who has always been after her.
     Landon and Jenna’s love for one another helps each other cope and heal.
3) Is this part of a series, or stand-alone?
     For now Surviving is a stand-alone. Although I wrote the story in both Jenna and Landon’s POV this is Jenna’s story. Landon has a story that I would like to write after my current project is finished.
4) How many hours per day do you spend writing?
     I don’t spend a set amount of time writing everyday. I do try to at least get something down everyday though. With my schedule and my three year old child it can be difficult to find uninterrupted time to write. I take a notebook with me almost everywhere I go so I can write anywhere. Plus I LOVE writing by hand. I would write my entire book by hand if I could. That would be very impractical though. 🙂
5) What is your favorite book in the same genre as yours?
     I’m not sure I have a favorite book in this genre. There are just too many amazing ones out there. But I can say that I am a HUGE fangirl of Colleen Hoover’s. And I will read any book published by Kristen Ashley.
6) What are you working on now?
     My current project doesn’t have a working title but it is a romance. I am a sucker for a good romance and an HEA. I can’t even reveal my character’s names.

Surviving

SurvivingTitle: Surviving

Author: J.L. Sprague

Genre: Romance / Suspense

Living in a world where there are only lows and never highs, Jenna’s memory has trained itself to forget. Forgetting the bad was never a problem for Jenna until she forgets the one memory she never should have forgotten.

Landon has never forgotten, even when he desperately wishes he could. She haunts him. By chance they meet again but Jenna still does not remember Landon. What Landon doesn’t know is that Jenna has secrets. Secrets that change everything.

Their love for one another is the only thing that can heal years of abuse – for both of them.

When tragedy strikes memories are triggered and Jenna’s whole world changes.

Can Landon help Jenna survive at the hands of a madman?

Author Bio

J.L. Sprague loves dark chocolate covered almonds and her life is pretty much one big dark chocolate covered almond, sweet on the outside and crunchy goodness on the inside. Family takes up the biggest portion of her day and book boyfriends take up the other portion. If she can’t find a good book boyfriend, then she just creates one and the writing portion of her day begins.

Outside of family, reading, writing and eating dark chocolate covered almonds, J.L. Sprague loves music and the outdoors. She studied Music Education in college, then changed her mind after three very long years to study Criminal Justice. Finally, after studying and studying she realized that reading and writing were more her forte. After starting her family with her crazy, supportive husband, she started doing what she loved, writing.

SURVIVING is J.L. Sprague’s first novel but it’s not her last. She has some very interesting ideas that you may love or hate. Whether you love or hate her stories, through all the twists and turns, there will always be a happily ever after.

Links

http://facebook.com/authorjlsprague
twitter.com/jlsprague

Leave a Reply

