Author Interview with R.J. Blain

inquisitorbanner

I’m interviewing R.J. Blain as part of the release day party of “Inquisitor”, an urban fantasy novel. Get the book from Amazon!

You can win a $10 Amazon gift card during the release day. More info at the bottom of the post.

Enjoy the interview, and thanks to the author for answering my questions.

Author Interview

 

1) What’s the hardest part of being an author?

 

This is always a difficult question for me to answer. It depends on the week and the day as often as not. Sometimes the editing process (something I typically enjoy) is the hardest because I want to release a perfect novel despite knowing there is no such thing as a perfect novel—at least, I haven’t met one yet.

 

But for pure intellectual difficulty, I want to say that the promotional and business side of writing is the hardest for me. I want to be writing. While worth it, it’s challenging. I was taught to be humble and not put myself up in front of a lot of people, and that’s what a writer needs to do nowadays. That’s been a very difficult transition. And to make matters more interesting, I’m a woman who writes epic and urban fantasy. That gets me enough strange looks.
2) Can you give us a short synopsis of Inquisitor?

 

Halloween was never one of Allison’s favorite holidays. As she’s one of the things that goes bump in the night, bad things tend to happen on Halloween. Doing a favor for a friend of hers lands her in a great deal of trouble. Accused of a murder she didn’t commit, she goes on the run a friend, who is a witch capable of keeping Allison’s inner beast under control.

 

But when things go from bad to worse, Allison may exchange her survivalist tendencies for vengeance…
3) Is this part of a series, or stand-alone?

 

It is both, oddly enough. The Witch & Wolf series is a bunch of loosely connected stories. Characters from one novel may appear as side characters in another novel. Eventually, all of the leads from the ‘stand alones’ will get together—sort of like a fuzzy, magic-wielding version of the Avengers.

 

For now, though, they can be treated as standalones.
4) How many hours per day do you spend writing?

 

This is an interesting question. When I’m not novel writing, I’m a developmental editor. When I’m drafting or editing a new project, I tend to spend 4 hours or so a day working with my clients. I’ll spend 6 to 10 hours a day writing and editing. Right before a release—usually for about two weeks—I work with clients exclusively.

 

I’ve been known to pull 16 hour stints of writing and editorial about two weeks prior to my deadlines. (I like finishing early…. Which is why I tend to have 2 weeks of ‘vacation’ before a release.)

 

Soon enough, I’ll be back to my 6 to 10 hour writing days… I’m glad I love what I do.
5) What is your favorite book in the same genre as yours?

 

Jim Butcher’s The Dresden Files and Patricia Briggs’ Alpha and Omega are tied for favorite ‘book’ in the genre. (I’m totally cheating… linked series is just one huge book with different volumes, right?) Okay, okay… From Butcher, I think Cold Days is tied with Dead Beat and from Briggs, it’s definitely Fair Game.

 

I could go on and on about the various UF and epic fantasy books I love… it’s a curse.
6) What are you working on now?

 

I have a lot on the plate at the moment! Storm Surge, the second novel of my epic series, is drafted in three different journals. I need to get that copied into my computer, edit it, and get it sent over to the first of my editors. I need to finish drafting City of Clocks, my first fantasy YA novel. I’m about a quarter done that project. Winter Wolf, the second Witch & Wolf novel, is mostly drafted and needs put into the computer.

 

I’m a traditionalist like that—I do a lot of writing by hand.

 

I have two other books in the works as well. I’m hoping to produce 3 more novels this year, but it’ll be a lot of work! We’ll see if I reach my crazy goal. Quality comes first.

 

About Inquisitor

Inquisitor - RJ BlainTitle: Inquisitor

Author: R.J. Blain

Genre: Urban / Paranormal Fantasy

When Allison is asked to play Cinderella-turned-Fiancee at a Halloween ball, the last thing she expected was to be accused of murder on the same night. She has to find the killer and quick, or she’ll be put to death for the crimes she didn’t commit. To make matters worse, the victims are all werewolves.

On the short list of potential victims, Allison has to act fast, or the killer will have one more body to add to his little black book of corpses.

There’s only one problem: One of the deaths has struck too close to home, and Allison’s desire for self-preservation may very well transform into a quest for vengeance…

Links

http://rjblain.com

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7190903.R_J_Blain

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/rj_blain

Google+: https://plus.google.com/+RJBlain-Author/posts

Get the book from Amazon.

Giveaway

Win a $10 amazon gift card to celebrate the release day party for urban fantasy / paranormal “Inquisitor”.

Go here to participate in the giveaway!

One thought on “Author Interview with R.J. Blain

  1. Gina says:

    I enjoyed your interview very much and I entered the drawing. Thank you for introducing me to another great author.

Leave a Reply

