Author Interview with Lisa Regan

holdstillbanner

I’m hosting an interview today with Lisa Regan, author of “Hold Still”, a mystery / suspense novel. My questions are bolded, Lisa’s responses are in regular font.

1) What’s the hardest part of being an author?

I really think the hardest part is finding a balance between writing and keeping up with marketing and promotion in the world of social media. Both are really time-consuming. You want to spend all your available time writing but you cannot afford to alienate the very people you’re writing for–so you want to make yourself available to readers when they reach out to you. It can also be quite tempting to spend a lot of time on Facebook, Twitter, etc. interacting with people (because let’s face it, it’s fun) but if you spend all your time there, you’ll never write anything. So yeah, it’s tough finding the right balance.


2) Can you give us a short synopsis of Hold Still?

Three men are viciously assaulting Philadelphia’s prostitutes, and it’s up to veteran detective Jocelyn Rush to stop them.  She catches two, but they won’t betray their partner, the most dangerous of all, and the attacks continue, striking closer to home.  Jocelyn’s only real clue comes when a monster from her past resurfaces–now she must race to connect the demons of her past with the villain of her present–before the sadistic attacker sets his sights on her.

 

3) Is this part of a series, or stand-alone?

I am planning to develop this one into a series.


4) How many hours per day do you spend writing?

None. I usually don’t even get an hour per day to write. LOL.  I have no writing schedule. I have a full-time job and a family. I have to write whenever I can. I was finding it really challenging in the last two years to find any time so what I do when I really want to make headway with something is put myself on a 100 day challenge. For 100 days I commit to writing something every single day, even if it is only one word. I have a notebook that I carry with me all the time and whenever I have ten or more minutes, I’ll pull it out and write until something interrupts me. I find the best time to get work done is at night after my daughter has gone to sleep–but then I have to find a balance because that is the only time of day I get with my husband. The 100 day challenge helps. If I write for a half hour or an hour a night while I am on a challenge, I feel pretty good. Most of the time, however, everything I write ends up getting written while I’m in line at the post office or waiting in a doctor’s office or sitting in my car waiting for my husband to come out of the Home Depot. It gets harder when I actually need to be seated at my computer to work–and that’s when I’m revising. Nobody wants your attention until you’ve got the lap top out in front of you. LOL. The bottom line is that I squeeze in writing whenever I possibly can. Otherwise, nothing would ever get written.

5) What is your favorite book in the same genre as yours?

That’s a tough one. Probably Blindsighted by Karin Slaughter.

6) What are you working on now?

I’ve already started the second Jocelyn Rush novel which centers around a cold case brought to her by a former Philadelphia Homicide Detective who only has a few months left to live. I’m also working on a sequel to Finding Claire Fletcher titled Over the Edge as well as a book called Harm which is about a teenage boy who stops a school shooting using only his mind and then goes on the run with his dad to avoid being captured by a bunch of shadow organizations that want to use his powers for dubious purposes.

 

Hold Still

Hold_Still_Ebook_2500Title: Hold Still

Author: Lisa Regan

Genre: Mystery / Suspense

After saving her three-year-old daughter from a car-jacking, off-duty police detective Jocelyn Rush ends up in the ER.  The last person she expects to run into is Anita Grant, former prostitute and an old acquaintance from Jocelyn’s days on patrol.  In spite of her obvious injuries—mutilated hands and feet—Anita refuses to talk about what happened. Reluctantly, Jocelyn backs off, and Anita’s case goes to Philadelphia’s Special Victims Unit.

Before long, Jocelyn is pulled into the SVU’s investigation.  Anita is finally ready to talk, but only to Jocelyn. Her story is harrowing, even to a seasoned veteran like Jocelyn. Working with SVU, Jocelyn’s investigation unearths a series of similar crimes going back four years.  Three men are preying on local prostitutes, viciously assaulting and mutilating them.

The police apprehend two of the suspects, but the third eludes capture. As the hunt for the most sadistic of the three intensifies, and his crimes escalate, Jocelyn and her colleagues have precious few leads.  Then a monster from Jocelyn’s past resurfaces.  She doesn’t want to be reminded of the terrible secret that destroyed her family nearly twenty years earlier, but the man offers her a lead that could crack Anita’s case.

To solve it, Jocelyn must connect her past with her present—before a sadistic attacker sets his sights on her.

Author Bio

Lisa Regan is a suspense novelist. She has a Bachelor’s Degree in English and Master of Education Degree from Bloomsburg University. She is a member of Sisters In Crime. She lives in Philadelphia with her husband and daughter. Her debut novel, Finding Claire Fletcher won Best Heroine and was runner up in Best Novel in the eFestival of Words Best of the Independent eBook Awards for 2013.

Links

Author Website: www.lisaregan.com

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Lisa-Regan/e/B009YY091I/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Lisa-Regan/189735444395923

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Lisalregan

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6443334.Lisa_Regan

Purchase links:

Amazon       Barnes & Noble       Smashwords       Kobo

One thought on “Author Interview with Lisa Regan

  1. Lisa Regan says:

    Thank you so much for hosting me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

