Guest Post Legends, Lovers and Lives

Legends_Lovers_Lives_Banner_Two

What’s A Little Grace Between Friends? A Character Interview With Merceline Renault

 

Cover Image_Lisa OlsenHello all, Lisa Olsen here – writer with a robot brain.  I’m a new adult, paranormal romance author of 19 books, best known for my bestselling Forged Bloodlines series.

I’ve been asked to be a part of a huge multi-author sale this summer.  On June 14th, 16 authors will make one of their Fantasy New Adult and Coming of Age books available for $0.99!  I’ll be participating with Angel of Mercy, the first in The Fallen series.  There will be a massive party going down on Facebook with freebies and games from all participating authors.  Stop by the Facebook event page to join.  There will be a prize given for whoever invites the most attendees, so be sure to invite your friends!

https://www.facebook.com/events/668633266542543

Angel of Mercy is about a girl whowakes up in the hospital after a brutal stabbing, with broken memories of a mysterious stranger with piercing blue eyes that haunts her dreams. Samael is a fallen angel, bound to the Earth and living out his life among humans but apart from them. Unwilling to let an innocent die, Sam bestowed some of his Grace to Mercy, healing her wounds and imbuing her with some of his angelic powers. Complicating things is Adamiel, the reckless fallen angel who is Sam’s enigmatic friend. Now Mercy’s eyes are opened to a whole new world beyond the human realm… and their eyes are opened to her.

Here is an interview with Mercy:

Iris: Iris here, and I’m talking to Merceline Renault, a bartender in Seattle and part time angel.  You’ve had a crazy few months, thanks for taking the time to talk to me.

Mercy: Call me Mercy, please, nobody calls me Merceline but my mother.  [Her nose wrinkles with distaste, and I remember she doesn’t have the best relationship with her mother by all accounts] I wouldn’t say I’m a part time angel, I’m still me.  I’m just… well, not entirely human anymore.

Iris: That sounds interesting, how did you get that way?

Mercy: I got stabbed in the alley outside of the club I work at, Eden.  I don’t remember much about it, but when I woke up in the hospital, I was different.  [Her expression grows distant for a fleeting moment with remembered pain or something else, it’s hard to say] I found out later that Sam had healed me and some of his Grace rubbed off on me.

Iris: Sam is your guardian angel?

Mercy: No, not exactly.  He didn’t follow me around or anything you normally think of from a guardian angel.  I’d never met him before that night in the alley.  For whatever reason he decided I was worth saving and he healed me.

Iris: I dunno, sounds kind of like a guardian angel to me.  What kinds of things can you do with the Grace?

Mercy: I can’t fly or anything, but there are a few tricks I can do like make myself imperceptible to people and the Grace protects me from harm.  I can see people’s souls now, tell if they’re good or bad, that sort of thing.  Oh and my eyes turned blue, they used to be brown. [She leans close to show me]

Iris: They sure are, I was noticing them before.  They’re just like Sam’s.

Mercy: Oh, Sam let you see him?  That’s impressive, usually he hides from most people.

Iris: Why would he do that?

Mercy: I don’t think he’s comfortable around people for the most part. He takes the exile part of being Fallen very seriously.

Iris: But not Adam, right?  Does he take anything seriously?

Mercy: [A scowl crosses her face and she shifts in her chair] I don’t want to talk about Adam.

Iris: Fair enough.

Mercy: Have you seen him?  Is he okay? [Her expression softens, teeth worrying at her bottom lip]

Iris: Not yet, I’ve got an appointment to talk to him next week.  Is there anything you want me to ask him?

Mercy: No.  Yes, ask him… no never mind, I don’t care what he has to say. [She waves the question away]

Iris: Yeah, I can see that…  Okay, if we’re not going to talk about Adam, who should we talk about?  Ben?

Mercy: Just because he’s sexy as hell doesn’t mean I’m sitting at home thinking about him…

Iris: Who, Ben is sexy as hell?

Mercy: What? [She blinks, as if she has just realized she was talking aloud] No…  I mean, yeah, he’s sexy in a different way, I guess.  Ben is a great guy. Things are going great between us.

Iris: That’s good. He seems like a really nice guy, for a cop.  He was really there for you when you were attacked by that Weatie guy, wasn’t he?

Mercy: Yeah, he was really great. He even let me stay with him for a little bit after Weatie broke into my apartment.

Iris: Yes, you said that already.  So you guys smoothed out the rough patch you were going through when he thought you were hiding things from him?

Mercy: Well, to be fair, I was hiding things from him.  I couldn’t just come out and tell him I was seeing angels, fallen or otherwise, let alone tell him about my Grace.

Iris: Why not?  If he’s such a great guy?

Mercy: I don’t really know.  Something told me he might head for the hills, and I really wanted one thing in my life to be normal, you know?

Iris: I can understand that.  So everything is back to normal then?

Mercy: For the most part, yes.  You could have knocked me over with a feather when Sam walked into the bar.  He is not a bar kind of guy.

Iris: So, I’m dying to ask you, what did he say?

Mercy: [She hesitates for a moment, as though she’s not sure she should talk about it, and then leans forward, her voice dropping conspiratorially] He said that there’s a prophecy that talks about a demon or something trying to be reborn to the world through me.  Well, someone who sounds an awful lot like me. My name wasn’t in it or anything.

Iris: Yikes, that sounds scary.  What are you going to do about that?

Mercy: Honestly?  I have no idea.  [Her voice takes on a forlorn note and I remember she’s really still in the middle of dealing with some major stuff here] I really wish Adam was here.

Iris: I thought you didn’t care where Adam was?

Mercy: [Just like that she sits up straighter, the vulnerability gone] I don’t.  Not specifically… I just need all the help that I can get.

Iris: I think you’re not being honest with yourself.

Mercy: I think you talk too much. [Uh oh, I may have worn out my welcome here…]

Iris: I’m sorry, occupational hazard. I’m just calling it like I see it.  And from where I’m sitting, it looks like your feelings for Adam are unresolved.

Mercy: I’m with Ben.  [Those blue eyes stare me down until I change the subject]

Iris: So did you tell Ben about what’s going on?  About fallen angels and demons and the prophecy?

Mercy: I’m going to.  In fact, I should get going right now.  No sense in putting it off any longer. [She doesn’t sound too thrilled by the prospect]

Iris: Good luck. [It doesn’t seem like enough, but she accepts it with a tight smile]

Mercy: Thanks.  Something tells me I’m going to need it.

***

For more information about me or any of my books, please visit my website at www.lisaolsen.net or find me at http://www.amazon.com/Lisa-Olsen/e/B0056AZFOU and I hope to see you at the event on June 14th.

Leave a Reply

