Author Interview with Troubled Spirits

troubledspiritsbanner

I’m hosting an interview with Teri Lee, author of YA paranormal “Troubled Spirits”. I hope you enjoy the interview. Thanks for Teri Lee for answering my questions.

What’s the hardest part of being an author?

The hardest part of being an author is juggling what I have to do with what I want to do. What I want to do is write every single day. I could lose myself in my story and never stop, not even to eat!  But life in the real world doesn’t disappear. I have a husband and children (although they are all adults now) and my writing doesn’t feed me  (yet) so I work as an ER nurse. Thankfully, that’s something I love. 


Can you give us a short synopsis of Troubled Spirits?  

After the death of her father, teenaged Annie Waters moves from her home in Florida to Shady Cove, Maine.  She is quickly befriended by Harmony, a ghost obsessed teen. Despite Annie’s disbelief in anything supernatural, she joins her friends in an attempt to contact the spirit of the Caldwell School. The spirit they awaken terrorizes Annie and her friends.  But when Harmony is nearly killed, Annie realizes her only hope is to solve the fifty year old mystery surrounding two boys – one missing and one dead.  
What inspired you to write this book?
A few of my coworkers invited me to join them on some ghost adventures. I almost said no, until I decided that it might be fun to write a ghost story. Although the group fizzled, Troubled Spirits had taken root.
How many hours per day do you spend writing?
That varies. I work 10-12 hour shifts 3-5 days a week. If I get home before my husband I can squeeze in about 2 hours. On my days off, its not unusual to spend 6 or more hours writing.
Name your top five favorite books.
1.  One Morning in Maine by Robert McCloskey – I love the illustrations and the story. I read it over and over to my children when they were little.
2.  A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle – It’s just such a magical adventure.
3. Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton – I think I’m addicted to this story – I’ve read it at least eight times and if you set it out front of me right now, I’d pick it up and start reading again.
4. The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien – I know it’s three books, but I’m counting it as one because how can you finish the first and do anything other than move onto the next. Tolkien was a master at creating worlds that the reader can lose themselves in.
5.  Harry Potter (all seven books) by J.K. Rowling – I read the first book to see what all the fuss was about (I’d heard that there were actually Harry Potter Book burnings!) and I loved it and moved right on to the next. I never did figure out what the fuss was about.
What are you working on now?
Im working on three stories–Whispering Spirits (a sequel to Troubled Spirits), Wijia – To Belong, which is a young adult fantasy/ adventure and I’m polishing my first story which is a middle grade fantasy. 

About The Book

troubledspiritscoverTitle: Troubled Spirits

Author: Teri Lee

Genre: YA Paranormal

Ghosts aren’t real.

That’s what Annie Waters believed before she snuck into the abandoned Caldwell School. Before the dark presence followed her home. Before she realized, her only hope was to believe.

 

Author Bio

authorteriGrowing up in Maine, Teri Lee spent most of her time reading and exploring in the woods. And that hasn’t changed. When she’s not writing, you’ll still find her lost in a book or out hiking. And if she’s not there, try the ER. But don’t worry, she’s the nurse, not the patient. Teri has three grown children and still resides in Maine with her husband.

 

Links

www.teri-lee-author.com

@TeriLee_author

https://www.facebook.com/author.TeriLee

Purchase: http://www.blackrosewriting.com/childrens-booksya/troubled-spirits

One thought on “Author Interview with Troubled Spirits

Leave a Reply

