Author Interview Redemption’s Edge Tour

redemptionsedgebanner

I’m hosting an interview today for the book tour for western historical romance “Redemption’s Edge”, and interviewing the author, Shirleen Davies. My questions are bolded, Shirleen’s responses are in regular font.

What’s the hardest part of being an author?

Finding the time to write the stories and the time to market the final product. It is truly a balancing act as a writer must learn to do both in parallel. This applies to both Indie and traditionally published books. All writers these days must be actively involved in marketing their books—social media presence, book tours/blogs/release parties, book release announcements, advertising, book signings, giveaways, etc. The time this takes is enormous and a writer must develop the discipline to do this aspect well, in addition to creating a high-quality story for readers.

 

Can you give us a short synopsis of Redemption’s Edge?
Redemption’s Edge is the story of Dax Pelletier, a battle-weary ex-Confederate general who has had enough of leading men, and making life and death decisions. Although he comes from a wealthy family in Savannah, his choice after the war, is to seek solace in the west.

Rachel Davenport is a privileged woman from Boston who shunned the social life to become a nurse in Union Army battlefield camps. She’s seen it all. When the war ends, she finds returning to her Boston roots isn’t what she wants. Instead, she accepts her uncle’s offer to become a nurse in his clinic in Splendor, Montana.

This is their story. How they meet, the struggles each face, and the redemption and acceptance Dax finally finds through love and a new life in a growing frontier town.

 

What inspired you to write this book?

I had already decided the first book would be part of a series about men and women coming out of the Civil War to find their lives had irrevocably changed. My goal is to write stories showing the trials these young people dealt with in a country torn apart by war. These are not stories about the Civil War itself, but about the human side of what happens afterwards.

Between the two of us, my husband and I have five sons. The reality is they are the inspiration for many of my books.


How many hours per day do you spend writing?


Somewhere between zero and six hours, with an average of four to five hours. I try to write between 1500 and 2500 words per day, but do have days where I write 4500.

Name your top five favorite books.

These are some romance books I go back to over and over.

The Secret by Kat Martin

The MacKenzie Series by Linda Howard

Texas Rain by Jodi Thomas

Thrill Me to Death by Roxanne St. Claire

Jackson Rule by Dinah McCall/Sharon Sala

 

What are you working on now?

Book four, All Your Nights, of my MacLaren contemporary series is just finishing the editing and proofreading process. I’ll review it one more time before it releases in November.

My big project now is book two in my Redemption Mountain series. Wildfire Creek is the story of Luke and Ginny with a release date of early 2015. Like book one, Redemption’s Edge, is planned to be about 100,000 words.

I’ll also be working on my next MacLarens historical western series, Boundary Mountain, which will focus on another branch of the family and take place in the 1860s through 1880s. Three of the characters were introduced in Wilder than the Rest. Book one of that series will release in 2015.

About The Book

Title: RedemptRedemptionsEdge COVERion’s Edge

Author: Shirleen Davies

Genre: Historical Western Romance

“A heartwarming, assionate story of loss, forgiveness, and redemption set in the untamed frontier during the tumultuous years following the Civil War. Ms. Davies’ engaging and complex characters draw you in from the start, creating an exciting introduction to this new historical western romance series.”

“Redemption’s Edge is a strong and engaging introduction to her new historical western romance series.”

Dax Pelletier is ready for a new life, far away from the one he left behind in Savannah following the South’s devastating defeat in the Civil War. The ex-Confederate general wants nothing more to do with commanding men and confronting the tough truths of leadership.

Rachel Davenport possesses skills unlike those of her Boston socialite peers—skills honed as a nurse in field hospitals during the Civil War. Eschewing her northeastern suitors and changed by the carnage she’s seen, Rachel decides to accept her uncle’s invitation to assist him at his clinic in the dangerous and wild frontier of Montana.

Now a Texas Ranger, a promise to a friend takes Dax and his brother, Luke, to the untamed territory of Montana. He’ll fulfill his oath and return to Austin, at least that’s what he believes.

The small town of Splendor is what Rachel needs after life in a large city. In a few short months, she’s grown to love the people as well as the majestic beauty of the untamed frontier. She’s settled into a life unlike any she has ever thought possible.

Thinking his battle days are over, he now faces dangers of a different kind—one by those from his past who seek vengeance, and another from Rachel, the woman who’s captured his heart.

 

Author Bio

shirleenProfile1I have been writing most of my life, but only recently began the transition into fiction. Historical romance, contemporary romance, romantic suspense, and short stories are what keep me reading, so that is the focus of my writing.

I was born in California, grew up between a growing beach town and a small town at the base of the San Bernardino mountains. My mother originally planned to name me Katherine, but she read an article in the paper about a woman named Shirleen shortly before my birth, so instead of having a cool nickname, like Kate, I am simply Shirleen. My mainstays growing up were all the Nancy Drew mystery books; I loved them. Eventually I moved on to mysteries, suspense stories, crime novels, and romance. Pride and Prejudice will always be one of my favorites.

Besides California, life changes have allowed me to live in Oregon, Colorado, and Arizona. Everywhere I have lived has been inspirational in one way or another, giving me the opportunity to meet remarkable people with their own stories to tell. I’ve sailed, skied, owned horses plus lots of other animals, and ridden various off-road vehicles. I enjoy dancing, fishing, hunting, being the back-seater on my husband’s Harley, traveling and, of course, reading and writing.

Prior to transitioning to writing fiction, I worked for Fortune 500 and many smaller, start-up companies. Fortunately, I regained my sanity long enough to start my own consulting firm, which I still maintain today.

My husband and I spend most of our time at our main home in the mountains of Arizona and our second home in Southern California. Between us we have five boys with growing careers and families of their own. So, from my perspective, my life is a success and always an adventure. I wouldn’t change a thing; well, except finding more time to write.

I love hearing from readers, so please feel email me at shirleen@shirleendavies.com.

Best regards to all of you,
Shirleen Davies

Links

Author Website: http://www.shirleendavies.com/

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MQA5X1I

iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/redemptions-edge/id903902381?mt=11

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/redemptions-edge-shirleen-davies/1120022671?ean=2940045664790

Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/redemption-s-edge

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/462150

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22839369-redemption-s-edge?from_search=true

Giveaway

 You can win a $25 Amazon gift card, $10 Amazon gift card, eBook copy of “Wilder than the Rest” and an eBook copy of “One More Day” during the tour. Follow the link below to participate.
Go here to participate in the giveaway.

One thought on “Author Interview Redemption’s Edge Tour

  1. Thanks very much for featuring my new historical western romance release, Redemption’s Edge, on your blog today!

    I welcome and will respond to questions or comments from your readers. My email is shirleen@shirleendavies.com.

    Enjoy your weekend. Hope it includes a cowboy!
    Shirleen Davies

Leave a Reply

