Book Review A Dead End in Vegas

DeadEndVegasTitle: A Dead End in Vegas

Author: Irene Woodbury

Genre: Women’s Fiction

When the nude body of Dave Sloan’s wife, Tricia, is found dead at the Bellagio in Vegas, he’s stunned.  Why was she even there when she told him she was going to a conference in Phoenix?  Tricia Sloan’s mysterious death shatters, and later transforms, the lives of those closest to her.

I wanted to read this book mostly because it seemed like a not-that-easy to solve suspense novel, with a mix of romance thrown in, and focusing on relationships and betrayal, and all of that sounded good to me. What surprised me the most however, was the complexity of what was going on – and I mean that in a good way.

When Dave SLoan’s wife, Tricia dies unexpectedly – murdered – Dave’s life is altered forever. He struggles between being overwhelmed by anger, and trying to understand what happened. As he tries to recollect the pieces of his life, so do the others closest to Tricia – Sally, our narrator, and Mike, her husband. But the shattered pieces of a life lost may change more than just their relationship with each other, their friendship, their history.

Great writing and a solid plot that doesn’t focus as much on the who-dun-it as on the consequences of losing a loved one, and a great cast of characters, Sally being my favorite.

One thought on “Book Review A Dead End in Vegas

  1. Irene Woodbury says:

    Hi Elise,
    It was lovely to visit your blog and read the review of my novel, A DEAD END IN VEGAS. I’m so glad you enjoyed the book–and that you liked Sally so much. I would love to have her as my best friend! Even though I stopped working on the book four or five months ago–these characters have stayed with me–for better or worse.
    I don’t know if you’re a member of Goodreads or not, but if you are, I would appreciate it if you would post your review there also. This is the link:
    http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23202644-a-dead-end-in-vegas?from_search=true
    My novel only has one review there so far, so it would help.
    Thanks again for your review, and for being part of my Enchanted tour. I will sign up as a follower of your blog. Continued success to you as a reader, reviewer, and writer.
    Irene

Leave a Reply

