Author Interview with Camela Thompson

alltheprettybonesbanner

I’m interviewing Camela Thompson today, author of mystery / thriller “All The Pretty Bones”. My questions are bolded, author’s responses are in regular font.

What’s the hardest part of being an author?

This is my first book, so I can only judge by what I’ve experienced thus far. I would have to say that self-promotion has been the most difficult aspect for me. I’m shy and introverted, so shouting my name from the imaginary rooftops of the Internet feels a little strange. I worry a lot about annoying people. In other words, it’s not my strong suit! I do enjoy all of the very cool people I’ve met through Twitter. It’s really fun to be able to interact with people, although I probably post way too many pictures of my adorable dogs.

Can you give us a short synopsis of All The Pretty Bones?

Imagine living in the shadow of a stalker – known for violent behavior – for ten years. When Olivia Kardos finds out that she is dying of terminal cancer and her stalker is back in town after a brief hiatus, she hits her breaking point. She decides to kill Mark Porter. Olivia knows that a business professional who has spent her life running is ill equipped to face off with Mark. She seeks help and finds aid from an unlikely source – an illegal arms dealer. While Olivia is preparing for a confrontation, her ex, Homicide Detective Sean Howard, is called onto a case and shocked by what he sees: an exsanguinated and brutally stabbed woman who could pass for Olivia. As time goes on, it becomes apparent that monsters may be real.

What inspired you to write this book?

When I was fourteen, a nineteen-year-old man took an unhealthy interest in me. I had never dated or encouraged him, but he would call me repeatedly, say really frightening things, show up at my classes, and leave stories of what he wanted to do to me. It escalated quickly and was terrifying! I was lucky that he lost interest after I called him on all of the restraining order violations and he was arrested several times.

When I hear about cases in the news that didn’t end as well as my own, I tend to get emotional. It didn’t take much for me to wonder what would push someone to break the rules and fight back. (I would never encourage anyone to do so! It’s very dangerous and illegal.) I also love vampire books, and the options that open up when you aren’t restricted by the real world’s rules. The two just organically blended.

How many hours per day do you spend writing?

I wish I could say hours! I still work full time, so I squeeze in as much as I can on weekends and set aside two weeknights. I would say it averages out to one to two hours per day, if you don’t count all of the writing I do during my day job.

Name your top five favorite books.

Ask me this question on any given day and you’ll probably get a different answer. In no particular order: The Shining, Fiend, Sharp Objects, I am Legend, and Daughter of Smoke and Bone.

What are you working on now?

Book 2 of The Hunted Series (All the Pretty Bones is Book 1). I’ve also had a horror novel that has been banging around in my head, begging to get out. It’s about a struggling couple who finds a dog under their front porch. They realize they have invited more than the dog into their home when strange things start happening at night. The dark secret hidden by their realtor leads them to wonder whether this new presence is a result of the house’s violent past. The working title is Charlie’s Shadow.

Thank you so much for the interview! It has been a real pleasure. You had some fabulous questions.

All The Pretty Bones

23201655Title: All The Pretty Bones

Author: Camela Thompson

Genre: Paranormal Thriller

After ten years of living in the shadow of her stalker, a diagnosis of terminal cancer pushes Olivia Kardos to take matters into her own hands. Her final days will not be spent isolated from the world nor hiding like a hunted animal. It’s time for Mark Porter to die. Going against a trained killer alone would be foolish, but the handsome arms dealer who offers to help her has a dark secret of his own.

Homicide Detective Sean Howard has tried to push his ex out of his mind, but his next case brings her crashing back into his life. A woman is found exsanguinated and brutally stabbed in Seattle’s Queen Anne neighborhood and she could be Olivia’s doppelganger. As more women are murdered and the similarities grow, Sean can’t shake the feeling that Olivia is next.

In a world where demons and vampires lurk just beneath the surface, what you don’t know can kill you.

Author Bio

3403042When I was a little girl, I loved writing stories about animals doing amazing things. Ducks could speak with humans, and hamsters had a suspicious tendency to follow plot lines that were strikingly similar to Indiana Jones. I grew up, found a career, and got married, forgetting the need to tell stories. A week cooped up in my house with an illness resulted in a random decision to write a novel. That first novel will probably never see the light of day, but it woke up something that had been dormant for years.

Despite dabbling in many genres, there is a driving force behind my stories. I love writing about women who shine in difficult circumstances. I will back them up against the wall and sit amazed as they manage to come out on the other side stronger than ever.

 Links

Website: http://www.camelathompson.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8548767.Camela_Thompson

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Camela-Thompson/1473446329557330

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CamelaThompson

Linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=8935820&trk=nav_responsive_tab_profile

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/+CamelaThompson/posts

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/camelat/

Leave a Reply

