Author Interview Godwin’s Law Tour

godwinslawbanner

I’m interviewing Bernard Maestas, author of thriller “Godwin’s Law”. My questions are bolded, author’s responses are in regular font.

What’s the hardest part of being an author?

Answering this question, haha!

In all seriousness, the hardest things are probably rejection and writer’s block. Anything artistic requires thick skin but having your manuscript rejected by hundreds of agents and publishers can be absolutely heartbreaking. Two unpublished novels, in particular, that I wrote, almost ended my career because I was so devastated by their failure.

When I’m actually on a roll, writing itself comes easily, but I face these long and painful bouts of being completely stifled creatively.

The marketing and promotion aspects of the job are decidedly tough for me, too. I’m not really good at that sort of stuff. The social media aspect of it doesn’t come easily to me either but I love connecting with my fans and readers, so that certainly makes up for it.

 

Can you give us a short synopsis of Godwin’s Law?


Godwin’s Law features the return of wisecracking mercenaries Ted and Alex from Say That to my Face, the first book in my Internet Tough Guys series. Ted Reagan, computer hacker and MIT graduate, is the brains. Alex Kirwan, ex-French Foreign Legion commando and parkour traceur, is the brawn. Together, they are soldiers of fortune, fighting for themselves under the banner of their own company, Reagan Kirwan International. This book is their first mission of their new company, a seemingly simple job of extracting a young woman from a dangerous international cult and delivering her back to her family. Surprisingly, the cult is not willing to let her go easily and throws all of their paramilitary resources behind getting her back. The answer to what makes her so valuable to them is beyond belief!

What inspired you to write this book?


There were quite a few things that inspired me in roundabout ways. The Empire Strikes Back gave me the idea start-to-finish chase while the song “Not Gonna Get Us” by TATU always played in my head when I envisioned the movie trailer for this story.

More directly, the heroine, Gwen, was inspired by someone I knew. I needed some way to channel my thoughts of that person and this story came to mind, heavily adapted and exaggerated, of course.

 

How many hours per day do you spend writing?


When I’m on a roll, I can go for twelve hours or more just banging away. But, I suffer serious and frequent bouts of writer’s block and go weeks or months without writing. I wrote my last book in a week (eight days, to be exact) but I’ve only done two in 2014.

 

Name your top five favourite books.

Easy. In order from number one, Catcher in the Rye, Great Gatsby, Macbeth (does that count?), Ender’s Game, and Moby Dick. I love to read, I go through about a book a week, and there are many that I really love, but these are the ones that have stood the test of time for me. I read them all when I was young and still love them to this day.

What are you working on now?


I just finished a noir crime thriller/mystery called Concrete Smile that was a blend of two of my unpublished novels with an idea that’s been festering in my brain for about thirteen years. It came out better than I could have hoped!

Now, I’m working on a really cool (I think) fantasy novel under the working title of OneiroKnights. I’ve also got the outlines for the next two Internet Tough Guys novels ready to go but I felt like I needed a break from thrillers having just written the third in the series, You Think This is a Game?, and Concrete Smile. OneiroKnights is actually two fantasy novel ideas I had compressed into one super-story!

About Godwin’s Law

godwin_coverTitle: Godwin’s Law

Author: Bernard Maestas

Genre: Thriller

Gwen Kane, estranged daughter of a Forbes millionaire and the bearer of a horrifying secret is lured into a dangerous international cult. It falls to Alex Kirwan and Ted Reagan to rescue her. What should be easy money for the mercenary team of a freerunning ex-commando and his computer hacking partner proves to be anything but as they find themselves doggedly pursued across Europe, Canada and the United States by highly trained forces with resources vastly disproportionate to the recapture of one missing acolyte.

Will Alex and Ted unravel the mystery of Gwen’s importance in time to survive?
Will Gwen pierce the seemingly impenetrable armor around Alex’s heart?

Will Alex and Ted get paid?”

Author Bio

Bernard Maestas lives in paradise. A police officer patrolling the mean streets of Hawaii, he has a background in contract security and military and civilian law enforcement. When not saving the world, one speeding ticket at a time, and not distracted by video games or the internet, he is usually hard at work on his next book.

Links

www.bernardmaestas.wix.com/bernardmaestas

www.facebook.com/BernardMaestasOfficial

www.twitter.com/bernardmaestas

Amazon (Kindle): Amazon (Kindle)
Amazon (paperback): Amazon (paperback)
Barnes & Noble: B&N
Smashwords: Smashwords
Leave a Reply

